Day 5: BMW Malaysian Open 2011

I took leave from work on Friday, just to attend Day 5 of BMW Malaysian Open 2011. I had the best time this year so far. Though it was extremely hot and humid in the afternoon, I thoroughly enjoyed the quarterfinal matches at Bukit Kiara Equestrian and Country Resort (map).

Also read my post on my visit here on Tuesday night –> Day 2: BMW Malaysian Open 2011

a nice looking BMW X1 20d welcomes you at the entrance

here I am again

ticketpro-stamped!

my faithful deuter city light has accompanied me again

Remember to pack a cap (a hat), a brolly, sunblock, some shirts (sweaty shirt on hot day) and maybe a raincoat too.

Caricature artist outside beer garden

On my arrival, I picked up yet another complimentary season ticket, thanks to BMW Malaysian Open facebook quiz (Round 5). In total, I have 5 season tickets. I lent one to a Mr. Cheah for his friend.

So far on Day 5, I’ve got to watch 3 ladies’ singles matches. First up was Jelena Dokic (AUS) against Bojan Jovanovski (SRB). Actually, both players are born in Serbia. Dokic won 7-6, 6-2. Dokic breathed extremely loud. There were some hissing and puffing when she was running all over the court.

scoreboard before start of match

Dokic in her FILA

Jovanovski in her nice-looking Nike outfit

closeup view of Dokic and a fan

Next up was the match between Jarmila Groth (AUS) and Ayumi Morita (JPN). Groth was born in Slovak. She won a tight match in 7-5, 3-6, 7-5. During this match, both ladies complained a lot about line calls. I wished they would just shut up and play on. Groth was also visibly pissed off by a section of Japanese supporters. She even complained that the fans “were not supposed to applaud her errors” (as compared to applauding winners).

Jarmila Groth in her Lacoste

Morita in her green Adidas

I didn’t get to catch the match between Michaella Krajicek (NED) and Anne Kremer (LUX) because the match was played on Court 1 during the Dokic’s match and Groth’s match. The Dutch lady won her match 6-2, 6-3.

Krajicek at Court 1

The plum tie of the day was between Lucie Safarova (CZE) and Marion Bartoli (FRA). While watching this match, Bartoli is the only player using two-handed forehand and backhand. That is so odd! Anyway, what turned out was not exactly a good match, because Safarova dominated Bartoli and won 6-1, 6-4. It was an anti-climax end to the quarter finals.

However today, I managed to get my free Kronenbourg beer at 4pm. After having beer on Tuesday and today, I would like to say, I HATE BEER!!!

not too long a queue for free Kronenbourg 1664 on a Friday

I assume the queue would be much longer for Day 6 and Day 7. By the time the queue for free beer had vanished, there were still some 20 cups of free beer left. The idea is to come out from the court before 4pm. If it is too early, visit the portable toilet. Visitors here (Bukit Kiara) are not so “kiasu” about free beer.

I've got my free Kronenbourg 1664

By the time I reached home, I was totally exhausted. I went out from home since 12 noon, and reached home around 10pm. I spent 6 hours (3pm-9pm) at Bukit Kiara just watching non-stop tennis! Now I know that prolonged exposure to tennis is extremely TIRING!

Categories: Outing, Sports | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

